Chippewa Valley Church Dartball League Captains Meeting

7:00 pm September 3, 2024 at Calvary Baptist Church

The annual Captains Meeting was called to order by League President Jim Mayo at 7:00 pm.

The agenda was approved as circulated.

A motion was made by Darren Rust, second by John Scherz to approve the minutes of the September 5, 2023 Captains Meeting as circulated. Motion passed.

The Financial Report was presented and approved. The balance at the beginning of the 2023-2024 season was \$2,535.76 of which \$1,602.53 was in the general account and \$933.23 in the tournament account. Ending balances totaled \$2,737.50 with \$1,840.63 in the general account and \$893.87 in the tournament account. Bill Stewart did a comparative balance audit of the financial report and bank statement.

Roll Call was taken. Team Captains and Scorers are as follows. Those *absent are so noted.

American League	Church	E-mail address	Telephone # Telephone # Telephone	ext(Y/N)
Bill Stewart	Truax	bstewart@vanmeterinc.com	715-456-0740	Υ
Glen Grorud	Bethesda Blue	gvgjag@aol.com	715-828-1964	Y
Jim Mayo	Calvary	jsmayo0728@charter.net	715-577-8835	Y
Barry Schultz	OR Badgers	sgtbarney44@hotmail.com	715-832-5936	N
Orville Berg*	OR Badgers	orvilleberg@gmail.com	715-214-7318	Υ
Jeff Tisdale	North Presbyterian	tisdale1@charter.net	715-214-7828	Υ
Dale Weibel	Chapel Heights	weibelsx4@aol.com	715-829-2598	Υ
Dale Ginder	OR Huskies	ginderdl@yahoo.com	715-559-0989	Υ
Dean Kallenbach	Hope Gospel	dean.kallenbach@aol.com	715-214-8498	Υ
Derek Milward	Hope Gospel	derek@hopegospelmission.org	715-309-9615	Υ
Gene Hanson	Saving Grace	cmhanson2015@gmail.com	715-828-8397	Υ
Lance Rufledt	St. Mark	judgeito42@hotmail.com	715-379-2305	Υ
Darren Rust	St. Mark	dcrust@sbcglobal.net	715-828-4413	Υ
Timothy Patton	Plymouth	fanoemmitt2003@yahoo.com	715-497-6933	Υ
Mark Miller	Bethesda Gold	mark@completeinsuranceofeau	<u>uclaire.com</u>	
			715-456-8293	Υ
Rick Israel	Peace (PB & J)	jai7175@aol.com	715-828-6623	Υ
John Scherz	Peace (PB & J)	jrscherz@charter.net	715-577-2437	Υ
Randall Hazen	Rock Falls Lutheran	masteruout@gmail.com	715-308-2524	Υ
Don Foslid*	Rock Falls Lutheran	dfoslid1969@gmail.com	715-410-9637	Υ
Terry Albrecht*	Hope Lutheran	albrechtta@charter.net	715-456-7346	Υ
<u>Directors:</u>				
Dennis Vold		de_vo2@yahoo.com	715-533-1032	Υ
Theresa Curtis*		theresacurtis 4@yahoo.com		

American League teams are Truax, Calvary, Hope Lutheran, OR Badgers, Bethesda Blue, OR Huskies, North Pres and Saving Grace. National League teams are St. Mark, Rock Creek, PB & J, Chapel Heights, Bethesda Gold, Hope Gospel and Plymouth.

Dean Kallenbach made a motion, second by Randy Hazen to reelect Jim Mayo as President/Treasurer and Lance Rufledt and Terry Albrecht as Directors with terms expiring in 2027. Motion carried. Continuing directors include Dennis Vold and Bill Stewart (2025), Rick Israel, Dean Kallenbach and Theresa Curtis (2026). Bill Stewart agreed to continue to serve as league Vice President. Dennis Vold will be the leagues scorer and maintain the Website with the weekly results. Discussion was held regarding returning to 9 players per team as a requirement instead of the current 7. After considerable discussion, both leagues set a minimum of 7 players per team with automatic outs recorded for any shortages. Teams are strongly encouraged to play 8 or 9 players whenever possible. Teams can bat more than 9 players if they choose to but are not required to do such. All playing rules will remain in place from last season.

Discussion was held regarding the proposed playing Schedule for each league. Play will begin on October 1 with the Banquet scheduled for April 8. Saving Grace volunteered to host the banquet if no other church was interested. Dean Kallenbach will once again coordinate the banquet. Game time remains at 7:15 with warm up prior to that time.

American and National Leagues will play 3 rounds (playing each team in the league once per round) with a champion declared for each round. Motion made by Dale Wiebel and seconded by Randy Hazen to implement the following process to determine league Season Champions and runner-up. Motion carried.

In the event of a tie between multiple teams in a round, head-to-head results will determine the champion. In the event of a tie of three or more teams where no one team was victorious over the others head-to-head, all teams will gather at a single site and play 1 game against each team (likely on March 18). The best record from the night will be declared the winner of the round. In the event of a tie between multiple teams during the night, total runs scored in all games will determine the winner of the round. Because of this tie breaking rule, both teams shall play the same number of innings, batting in the bottom of the ninth even if leading.

If there are 3 different champions, then a fourth team will be added to the playoffs with the next best overall record. The highest seeded team will host the wild card team while the second seeded team will host the third. It will be a "best of 3 games". The winners will play for the championship the following week.

In the event one team wins two rounds and another team wins one round there will be a playoff for the overall championship. The team winning two rounds will host the playoff and the playoff will consist of a <u>maximum</u> of two games with the host team needing to win one game to be crowned the champion.

Discussion was held regarding the awarding of trophies. Motion made by Barry Schultz, seconded by Darren Rust to award trophies the same as last season. We will maintain a trophy for the "Junior Player of the Year" to the high batting average player 18 and under. Team trophies for the league winner and runner-up. Individual trophies will be awarded to the league champions and for 1) most singles and second most singles, 2) most triples and second most triples, 3) most runs batted in and second most runs batted in, 4) highest batting average and second highest batting average, 5) most improved average over the previous year, 6) highest average for a first year player, 7) most doubles and second most doubles if greater than 20. To qualify for individual trophies, the player must compile a minimum of 125 at bats in the regular season. Motion carried.

League dues are set at \$50 per team. Banquet ticket price will be priced at \$15 if possible to maintain a high quality meal. Dean Kallenbach's committee will make all arrangements and negotiate final pricing for the banquet.

Darts are available for purchase from Jim Mayo (715-577-8835) at \$37 per dozen.

Results of play each night should be reported to Dennis Vold and Jim Mayo. Dennis will update the website and post the standings and also send them to the Leader-Telegram. Text the results to Dennis at 715-533-1032 and Jim at 715-577-8835 or email Dennis at de_vo2@yahoo.com and Jim at jsmayo0728@charter.net by Wednesday noon at the latest.

Diamond of Honor members are Bud Barum, Buzz Bennett, Orv Berg, Larry Finseth, Don Ginder, Glen Grorud, Gene Hanson, Jim Mayo, Ron Miller, Marlin Mueller, Larry Sands, Ed Slifer with Terry Albrecht being added in 2024. Captains are encouraged to continue to check with their team members for additional members.

Northwest Church League Tournament will be held March 29, 2025 at Calvary. There being no additional business the meeting was adjourned at 8:10 pm.

Minutes written by Jim Mayo